I believe in signs and it drives my husband nuts from time to time.  Whether it’s a movie, a line in a book or quotes on a Lululemon bag.   These signs can give me a much needed jolt of inspiration, reality or craziness.  Is my Lululemon bag right, “The pursuit of happiness is the source of all unhappiness”?

I just finished working an eleven day job.   I spent four days in a clients office helping a team of non-event people get ready for an event.   The seven additional days were spent on my feet at a convention center responding to needs from the client team, vendors and “the event company” that had hired me as a contract event manager for the project.  I was prepared to feel under-valued, under-appreciated and thankful on day eleven that I wasn’t contracted to work again for another twenty eight days.   But I was wrong…

Over those eleven days I felt necessary to the success of the small area I was working on.  The Director from the client team said to me on the second day “you make this look easy”  on day four he said “we couldn’t have done this without you”   regardless of the truth in his statement, it provided me with the feeling that I was adding value and I realized that I had been craving this feeling in so many of my other jobs.

Perhaps I’m not searching for a new line of work, just a better fit where at the end of the day I feel like I added value or at the very least made someone’s day just a little bit better.